Regular elections for all municipalities in California are held every even year (such as 2016 and 2018). The City of Ojai has a publicly elected five-member City Council, including the Mayor, that serves as the legislative body for the City of Ojai.  The Mayor is elected to a two-year term while the other four Council members are each elected to four-year terms.  The terms of the Council members are staggered so that two Council members and the Mayor are up for re-election in each regular election.

Additionally, if needed, special elections may be called to fill an unexpected mid-term vacancy on the Council.  All 10 cities in Ventura County, including Ojai, contract with the Ventura County Elections Division to conduct all elections.  The Ventura County Elections Division also administers voter registration and outreach programs; maintains the master voter file, master office and incumbent file, and master street index. It also processes Vote By Mail ballot requests and voted ballots; performs the layout and proofing of all sample ballot, official ballot, and voter information materials; establishes precinct boundaries and polling place locations; recruits and trains precinct workers; maintains, tests and distributes voting equipment to all polling places; tabulates all voted ballots, and conducts the official election canvass.  

Below is a video explaining the role of Ventura County Election Division in all Ventura County municipal elections.

Ojai City Hall
401 S. Ventura Street
Ojai, CA 93023

(805) 646-5581

Monday through Friday
8 am to 5:30 pm

Ojai City Council meetings are generally held on the second and fourth Tuesdays each month at 7:00 pm in Council Chambers at City Hall.